Yankees Triple-A Team To Play 2012 “Home Games” In Six Cities

With PNC Field in Scranton scheduled to be closed for renovations in 2012, the team had hoped to move their 2012 season to another stadium. Their first choice was to play in Newark, New Jersey however that move was blocked by the New York Mets who enforced their territorial rights blocking the move. With no other options, the Yankees have settled on having their Triple-A franchise play their 72 game home schedule at six different stadiums in 2012. The team offices will be based in Rochester where they will play 37 games. The team will also play six games in Buffalo, ten games in Syracuse, four games in Pawtucket, eight games at Lehigh Valley, and seven games in Batavia. It will be interesting to see if the club has a hard time signing minor league free agents this season, as for all purposes, the season is pretty much an entire year on the road. You can read all about the schedule and hear the Yankees spin on the situation via the story link below.

Triple-A Yankees set to hit the road — MILB.com

Leave a Reply