In one of the more bazaar chain of events I’ve ever seen in the minors, Triple-A Omaha Storm Chasers pitcher Luis Mendoza threw a No Hitter last night against the Memphis Redbirds at Memphis. Following the celebration it was announced that the Redbirds official scorer John Guinozzo had overturned his original call of a ninth inning error on left fielder David Lough and had awarded Redbirds shortstop Tyler Greene with a hit. So Mendoza’s No Hitter was no more. Fast forward an hour later and the Storm Chasers send out a tweet stating “The Drama Continues: It’s Back To A No Hitter For Mr. Luis Mendoza”. Following the tweet by the Storm Chasers, Mendoza stopped and signed Redbirds fan Bob Sanders’ completed scorecard with the “No Hitter 7-18-11″ inscription on his way out of the clubhouse. Moments later MILB.com the official site of Minor League Baseball came out with a revised, and since slightly edited story that said the Mendoza one hitter was once again a no hitter for now but matter is still undecided and will be headed to the Pacific Coast League office on Tuesday. Now the latest version of the MILB.com story says the matter could, but not will, head to the league office on Tuesday, and outlines the league rule that allows the league office to recommend a change, or change themselves, an official scorer’s ruling if called upon by said scorer to review a certain play. So at least for the moment, as of 4:00 a.m. central time, Mendoza did indeed throw a No Hitter last night. If the No Hitter stands it would be the second of Mendoza’s career. He no-hit the Salt Lake Bees back in 2009.
Mendoza Hurls Controversial No Hitter – MILB.com
UPDATE: Here is the local Memphis newspaper article with comments from Omaha acting manager Tommy Gregg about the controversy.
Omaha’s Luis Mendoza blanks Redbirds for first no-hitter at AutoZone Park – Commercial Appeal
UPDATE to the Update: If you read the first comment in the Commercial Appeal story it is a person claiming to be Guinozzo explaining his thought process behind the original scoring of an error, his overturning to a hit, and his reversal back to the original call of the error.
UPDATE #3: MILB.com has posted video of the David Lough error. It kinda looks like a hit.
VIDEO: David Lough’s 9th Inning Error
UPDATE #4: The Memphis Redbirds filed an appeal with the Pacific Coast League in an effort to get the error, turned hit, turned error, to be changed to a hit once again. No timetable for a ruling by the league.
Memphis Redbirds appeal ruling on Monday’s no-hitter — CommercialAppeal.com
UPDATE #5 The Pacific Coast League office have overturned the error and awarded Tyler Greene a hit, taking the No Hitter away from Luis Mendoza. Read about it at Ballpark Digest who provides complete coverage of the PCL’s ruling.